Tuesday, October 15, 2013

"wonderfully pugnacious," rude, intelligent and convincing": "Unapologetic" (video and reviews)

Not to be confused with the Rihanna album of the same mane,
"Unapologetic" the book is now out in USA .
I am unapologetic and not being into apologetics, but do check this out!
(see my previous post on the book for more resources:Unapologetic at Mars Hill).

Video promo/interview:

Video of a lecture based on the  book:

“You can easily look up what Christians believe in. You can read any number of defenses of Christian ideas. This, however, is a defense of Christian emotions—of their intelligibility, of their grown-up dignity. The book is called Unapologetic because it isn’t giving an ‘apologia,’ the technical term for a defense of the ideas.

And also because I’m not sorry.” -Francis Spufford

“The most exhilarating read of the year...his case for faith is rude, intelligent, and convincing.”

Amazon link:

Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense by Francis Spufford


First published in the United Kingdom to great acclaim, Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. But it isn't an argument that Christianity is true—because how could anyone know that (or indeed its opposite)? Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature makes  an argument that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.
Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.
Unhampered by niceness, this is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative, and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

  •  Preview PDF here
  • Great interview with Mockingird here
  • Excerpt of "Yeshua" chapter here.(The writer there says, "I wish I could post the entire Yeshua chapter in Francis Spufford’s Unapologetic. It has to be the freshest, most vivid, gut-level and just plain exciting writing about Jesus since, well, Robert Capon)
  • Another excerpt..F word included 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hey, thanks for engaging the conversation!